Truck Driver Spotlight: Jeff McLain

Dec 29, 2022

Sitting behind the steering wheel of a truck is something Agtegra Truck Driver Jeff McLain has been doing since he was a teenager. The Redfield, South Dakota, native vividly remembers the first solo truckload he took into town.
“I was 14 years old when I hauled my first load of grain to town by myself,” McLain said with a laugh.
After graduating from Northwestern High School in the late 80s, McLain entered the workforce and soon joined the Agtegra Cooperative team as a feed truck driver. Over his past 33 years with the cooperative, McLain has worked in a variety of roles, including managing a fertilizer shed, being an applicator, working the front counter, and of course, driving truck.
McLain credits growing up in the farming community and watching his dad drive truck for his chosen career path.
“I’ve always liked anything to do with agriculture and being able to help customers,” McLain said. “I want to be as efficient as we can for them.”
McLain’s commitment to Agtegra is proven through his years of service and dedication to customers. While 33 years may seem like a long time to some, to McLain, the time has flown because of the people he gets to work with every day.
“I haven’t not liked coming to work yet,” McLain said. I’ve gotten to work with a lot of good people over the years."

Read More News

Sep 08, 2023
Jeff Lakner, with his wife Myrna and son Drew, operate Lakner Farms LLC, a diversified grain and livestock farm north of Wessington, South Dakota. Jeff received his Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness from South Dakota State University and has four adult children.
Aug 29, 2023
Huron Innovation Center places emphasis on agricultural education through Mitchell Tech partnership
Jun 21, 2023
Agtegra Cooperative hosted its annual internship kickoff event on Thursday, May 18, at the Dakota Event Center in Aberdeen, South Dakota. The event marked the start of an educational and informative summer for 41 talented interns, representing 12 institutions across South Dakota, North Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa and Indiana.